Chapter 4 – 大勝軒 Taishoken

Times flies -it’s been one goooood, loooong a month and a week vacation. It is almost too long that at times I feel like I became an useless person already. But I’m happy to say I’m free of jetlag, fully recharged and excited to start working again on Monday!Today’s been a very fulfilling day where I played four hours of basketball, studied for the new job, worked on my restaurant business with cofounders and our lawyer and watched Toronto stole one from Cleveland (NBA). I’m glad that my physique (measured at 155.6lbs yesterday morning, the lightest I’ve been since freshman year) and bball skills are slowly coming back. Even though not at 100% yet, once I get them sexy ass Stephen Curry kicks, I should be at least 90% hahaha!

Anyway, the noodles today is a special type of ramen more commonly known as tsukemen, which literally means dipping noodles. Tsukeru = To dip. Men = Noodles. And apparently, this store claimed to be the inventor of the original tsukemen, which I didn’t find out until 10 minutes ago hahaha! The original and main store is in Ikebukuro in Tokyo, but ironically I went to the branch all the way in Kyoto during my short four-day Kansai expedition.

It was my first day there in Kansai. I took the night bus and got to Kyoto at 5:30am. Did a little sightseeing at Fushimi-Inari Taisha before I met up with two friends (my ex-coworker and his girlfriend) for lunch. Initially, we were thinking about going to Nakamura Tōkichi, a notoriously famous traditional Japanese sweets restaurant. But probably cuz of Golden Week (a one week holiday in the beginning of May in Japan), the wait was 90 minutes. Since I’m a ramen vagabond and not a sweets vagabond, I did the one and only logical thing – went for ramens instead.

My friends and I found Taishoken in Kyoto Ramen Kouji. It’s on the 10F of Kyoto station, kind of like the Tokyo Ramen Street I introduced in chapter 3, where there’s a bunch of different variety of ramen restaurants. The girlfriend wanted tsukemen so we decided on this spot. In the end, I think we still ended up waiting for 20 minutes, thanks to stupid GW… but the tsukemen was very dope just as any other tsukemens I’ve had in Tokyo. The seafood soup was warmer than usual tsukemen soups though, which I really liked as I always like my food burning hot in my mouth. Also, the noodles were very thick and chewy. In most cases, I believe tsukemens are thicker than traditional ramens, so if you ever crave for a little change, I’d say definitely try them out!


看,我才剛打完英文就已經花了一個小時在搞屁啊。我看中文直接來打點不一樣的好了(我相信各位台灣同仁的英文水準)。相信大部分的台灣人對日本都有一種憧憬與嚮往。有出國經驗的呢,大多數應該都有跑過日本。而在跑過日本的人中呢,去過兩次以上的想必不是少數。就小弟而言,因為很有幸的有家庭經濟的允許,在大三去早稻田留學之前也已經與家人遠征了日本四次。不過說到這,我想請問一下去過日本不同縣市的人。你們有沒有發現其實日本不同地區講話的方式,口音,甚至是人與人的相處方式都有些許或是很大的不同呢?就像台灣雖然很小,不過北中南的人其實都很不一樣的感覺。一般我們對日本人很有禮貌,溫文儒雅,品德兼優(說難聽一點可能是慢熟,話都放心中,非常難搞)的印象大多是來自東京人。不過其實相比之下,大阪人就比較像台灣人直來直往,大喇喇,比較不拘小節。這也是我為什麼此次決定來關西一遊的原因(十年前有來過一次,可惜那時只會講阿哩阿多跟摳你其哇)。其實我大三在留學之前,本來是想選關西的學校。既可以學關西腔(我從小就是喜歡跟人家不一樣),又可以跟個性比較好相處(個人意見)的關西人打交道。但好死不死,我們學校有交換的就只有早大跟一些野雞大學,所以最後就跑到東京了。不過現在就結果而言,其實我後來也很喜歡東京。那一年的時光更可以說是我人生24年半中最好棒棒的時光。而且也因此遇到了我此生最大的貴人,也就是我東京寄宿家庭的媽媽-塔卡醬,以及很多珍貴的日本,台灣,中國,新加玻,泰國,美國朋友。

意外的是這次關西四日遊,我發現其實關西裡的京阪神(京都、大阪、神戶)的人全部都不太一樣。這次因為時間不夠,不然我想奈良、和歌山、滋賀等等的縣可能也都有點不一樣。說坦白話,我之前在日本電視上就有看過京都人比較像東京人,有點含蓄,說話都暗藏別的意思。而也就那麼巧,我第一天到京都就馬上遇到的一個不太友善的咖啡店老闆。因此也就不免的對京都人留下不太好的印象。記得那天也是關西遊的第一天。我坐夜巴在早上的5點半抵達京都。走了40分鐘~一小時左右的路程到伏見稲荷大社(有巴士跟交通工具,但我旅遊都喜歡用走的,比較能停下來觀賞人事物)。好死不好我到達那寺廟時手機只剩2%。正想說「完了…今天不用照相了的時候」,剛好找到一間咖啡店。立馬進去點了早餐想說順便充個電。這時超扯的事發生了-店裡的插頭竟然被人用膠帶封了起來…!!!我想說「好吧!應該是有太多人沒問直接在那邊隨便亂充吧?」所以我好禮好氣的用了在東京服務業苦練出來的超級敬語問老闆說能不能借充一下。結果竟然被他用聲比東京人更令人發寒的口氣回說店裡不提供充電…頓時有點傻眼,想說那既然不給充那我不是白花錢買了早餐…雖然最後他還是給充了,不過他的口氣真的讓我感到很氣憤。現在事後反省下來,我日本朋友也跟我說在日本很多咖啡店其實都不給充電,不過該說是文化衝擊嗎?又或者是我日文講太好他把我當成日本人了哈哈(自己說咧)?好啦,可能是我平常不喝咖啡所以都不怎麼去咖啡店的錯啦!但我在灣區的印象就是咖啡店=充電=可以讀書+用電腦的好地方。不過因為這小插曲我後來一整天在京都全程都講英文。(P.S.日本人大多像台灣人一樣對外國人都很友善)我很常跟我朋友這樣說,不過他們都不相信。而這趟旅行我也因為說英文拿到很多免費試吃。就像我以前住在東京去酒吧用英文點酒,Bartender都給我多一點一樣。

好啦,故事說到這好像半點拉麵都沒講到。不過我想對沾麵,台灣的朋友應該也不陌生。我這次回台灣看到北車微風的花月嵐沒了。取而代之的是正在裝修中的三田製麵。這家是我姐在慶應大學時非常愛的沾麵店。當年聖誕節我跟我爸媽一起去找我姐時有在東京三田的本店吃過。有機會的話請在裝修後去試試看。至於對本篇「大勝軒」的沾麵有興趣的讀者,請閱讀上面的英文。哈哈哈哈!


よし!いよいよ日本語の番だ。もうここまで書いてきて2時間以上もかかったw。初めての長文で失礼。すでに疲れた状態です。英語と中国語では全然違う話書いてたから、日本語でもまた違うこと書こうかな?早速ですが、まず本番のラーメンに参りたいと思います。

この度行ってきたのは「大勝軒」とつけ麺屋さん。店内に貼ってある説明とか元祖のつけ麺を発明した店だそうだ。本来つけ麺は厨房で食べるまかないで、お客さんがおいしく食べてる表情見てたら「食わしてくれよ」っていう声がどんどん溢れてたから、大勝軒の初代山岸さんが改良したまかないを今のつけ麺にしてメニューに加えたみたい。詳細は上の写真見てください。

大勝軒は本来東池袋に本店があるけど、あいにくオレ今回行ったのは本店じゃなく、ものすごく遠い京都店に参りましたw。京都で東京発祥の食べ物を食べるのはちょっとバカバカしいけど、まあ、知らなかったから、しょうがないね〜

今回日本にいる11日間の中で実は3泊4日は関西へプチ旅をしてきた。京都、大阪と神戸行ったけど、ホントは奈良も行きたかったな〜あいにく奈良出身の友達と都合が合わなくて、代わりに京都の案内してもらった。感想を言うと、京都は観光客多すぎて(GWもあってね)、そこまで気に入らなかった。どこに行ってもお寺ばっかだし、人混み多すぎたから、半日でくらくらになっちまった。なんか観光のため作った町みたいな…まあ、でも古き都だから、人多いのはしょうがないかな。ちなみに、伏見稲荷大社、東福寺、泉涌寺、清水寺、祇園、嵐山渡月橋、嵯峨野竹林の道、哲学の道、金閣寺、銀閣寺とか色々見てきたけど、一番好きなのは銀閣寺。人は金閣ほど多くないし、銀の砂みたいなのにすっごく惹かれたし、デートに最高のスポットだと思う。ちょうどあの日は雨しとしと降ってて、奈良出身の子と一本の小さな傘を差しながら遊びまわって、最高にロマンチックなデートっぽかったな〜その子はもう彼氏いるけどなw。

とりあえず、今回はここまで。次回また関西編がつづくから、関西と関東両方に行ってからの感想をお楽しみに!

濃厚魚介つけ麺 並 Noukougyokai Tsukemen ¥880

京都府京都市下京区東塩小路町901 京都駅ビル10F 京都拉麺小路店 内

http://www.tai-sho-ken.com/

Leave a Reply

