Chapter 19 – Yamadaya 山田屋

下面有中文。日本語は下記。

So, I’ve been thinking about life a lot. Even more so since my parents left. Life is pretty short, and time passes without you noticing. If we can only live 80 years in a lifetime, assuming you don’t run into any accident, then why are so many people living for tomorrow and not today? I am actually guilty of this myself too. I always think, “okay, I will move back to Asia in three to five years”, or “I will start my company when I have enough experience”. But I came to realize if you don’t do now what you want to do in the future, then you’d never do it. Don’t get me wrong- planning and waiting for the timing are critical, but what is even more important is to set strict timelines and start making your future the present.

Since I posted the I-didn’t-enjoy-so-much ramen last week, my friends reactions were bipolar: some people loved having something in contrast, while the others warned me to watch myself if the restaurant owner turns out to be a mafia. So, I’m back to introducing some good and sexy ass ramens. This week, we have “Yamada-ya”, which translates to “The House of Yamada”. It’s pretty common in Japan to name your restaurant with [your name] + the [ya] suffix. It’s kind of like in English, we have “Denny’s”, “McDonald’s”, “Wendy’s”, etc.

Yamadaya is an American franchise that originated from Torrance down in Los Angeles. They now have stores all over California, even as far south as San Diego. Although I went to the branch in San Francisco’s Japantown this time, my very first visit to Yamada was actually to the Westwood branch. I remember the only legit ramen I knew at the time was another famous SoCal chain, “Daikokuya”. Then one day when I visited my UCLA friend Mr.B (just to tell him how much better USC is. haha!), he introduced me to Yamadaya just like he did with Tsujita. I remember when I had my first ramen, I was pretty overwhelmed. Bear in mind this was when the only legit ramen I knew was Daikokya and before LA even had a Tsujita. Now, I don’t really remember what broth it was or what the noodles tasted like, but I remember it was good overall, despite the tiny portion compared to even Japanese size.

Fast forward to now. The ramen I had in the Japantown branch is Tonkotsu Kotteri. Kotteri means thick and heavy. It usually refers to Tonkotsu base. But here in the U.S., it usually refers to Tonkotsu with se-abura (pork back oil). In Japan, it’s pretty much a given that Tonkotsu broths would include se-abura, but perhaps because Americans can’t take the super thick and fatty back oil, most ramen parlors tone down their regular Tonkotsu and offer the Kotteri option on the side.

Anyway, the Tonkotsu Kotteri is as authentic as can be. Just like an ordinary but sexy ordinary Kyushu style ramen, with extra thin noodles and a Tonkotsu kick that has a soul-cleansing aftertaste! The only difference is they put dry fried garlic slices as a topping, which I have never seen in Japan. But for garlic lovers like myself, it forms an awesome harmony with the other toppings – seaweed, kikurage, chashu, bamboo shoots, and an icing on the cake with the Tonkotsu soup. Also, the portion was not as tiny as before, and I didn’t have to order extra noodles this time. If there’s one thing I didn’t like though, it is probably their chashu. My chashu pork has a lot of fat. But for someone who loves pork fat, it could be a godsent.

Overall, the ramen is awesome and tight. Two thumbs up! But remember to go early during lunch/dinner time, especially on weekends, or you might find yourself waiting for 30 minutes to an hour.


自從老媽回台到今天,也已經過了兩個禮拜了。雖然嘴巴還是被封住,沒辦法吃飯,但即使這樣,現在上班已經生活什麼的、也慢慢重新習慣了。不過最近可能因為每天重複吃(喝)一樣的東西,所以真的是越來越想念台灣跟日本的美食了。其實一直以來都有打算在三到五年內回亞洲。不過最近有很認真的跟摯友兼餐廳合夥人的A小弟一起思考回亞洲創業的點子。但是每當我們覺得有個不錯的點子後,隔天就又會想到一個更好的。因此最近每天都在研讀台灣跟日本創業的資訊,過的無比充實。

既上一篇本人不太喜歡的拉麵推出後,反應很兩極:有些朋友說很新穎,可以比較好吃跟不好吃的,而有些朋友則叫我小心,萬一店主是黑道還是什麼的我就完蛋了…因此本週將繼續回到推薦好吃的拉麵!今天的拉麵店叫做「山田屋」,是間從洛杉磯起源的九州風豚骨拉麵。我這次去的是在舊金山日本城裡的分店,但其實早在我人還在USC南加大求學時,就已經跟就讀UCLA的中學朋友B小弟一起去過位於Westwood的分店了。

依稀記得第一次吃的時候,LA還沒有Tsujita つじ田,所以那時山田屋對我還蠻震撼的。味道是什麼,湯頭是不是今天的豚骨也已經不記得了,但我只記得很好吃,但可惜量很小。在美國可以說是有點少的可憐。甚至比日本的量感覺還更少(雖然其實日本的拉麵都還蠻大碗的)。那時還蠻喜歡的,只要每次有去UCLA找B小弟就一定會去吃這家。

把時間拉回現在,這次在舊金山分店點的是濃厚豚骨湯底。這是比一般的豚骨濃湯更濃,通常是在湯裡另外再添加更多的豬背油,大蒜等熬製而成。它的麵是使用細麵,跟道地的九州拉麵幾乎沒差別。但是比較特別的是它的食材裡有加蒜片。我在日本好像還沒看過這種組合。不過對於喜歡吃大蒜的人,像是我本人,就真的超對味的啦!蒜片加豚骨,碰出新滋味!而且可能有客人反應,也有可能是每間分店不太一樣,現在的量不像以前一樣,不用叫「替玉」(額外加麵)也可以吃得飽了。

如果像我爸一樣喜歡吃細麵,然後又我一樣喜歡吃豚骨濃湯的話,非常推薦去試試看!而且北至舊金山,南至聖地牙哥都有展店。不過建議提早去排隊,尤其是週末。要不然你可能會要等半個小時到一小時。


この間日本のグルメ番組観てたら、益々和食が恋しくなってきた。ずっと三、五年後にアジアに戻ると決めてたけど、最近いいビジネスアイデアを思いついて、来年すぐ東京に戻って起業でもしようと、今色々日本での起業に関することを勉強してる。ある友達Pちゃんに「食べ物のために戻るなら、甘すぎじゃない?」と言われたけど、まあ、食べ物も幸せの日々を送るために欠かせないものだから、それでもいいんじゃないw。

ところで、先週の気に入らないラーメンを投稿した後、両極のコメントを友人たちからいただいた。半分は「美味しいラーメンと比較ができるのは面白い」と言いつつ、逆にもう半分は「そのラーメン屋の店主がヤクザだったらどうすんだよ?気をつけろよ!」っていうコメントもあった。ということで、今週からまた美味しいラーメンの紹介に戻ります。今日のラーメンはロスのトランス発祥の「山田屋」。

初めて食べる時はWestwood支店に行った。当時はまだUSCに入ってて、ある日UCLAの親友のBくんに「USCのほうが何億倍いいぞ」と言うため、山田屋につれていってもらったw。ちなみに、USCとUCLAの仲悪さは早稲田と慶応ほどアメリカでも極有名なライバル。その時、ラーメンはまだ今ほどアメリカでブームしてないから、オレが知ってるいいラーメン屋は、同じ南カリフォルニア発の大黒屋しかなかった。初めての感想はすっごくうまい。びっくりするくらいうまくて、自分の中では大黒屋を越えてるなと思うけど、量がちっぽけのは印象深かった。

今回食べに行ったのはサンフランのジャパンタウンにある支店だけど、同じく美味しい。量も前より全然増えてる。オレは「山田屋こってり」を頼んだ。ちなみに、アメリカでこってりという選択があれば、必ずこってりにする。こっちでありがちなのは現地の人達の味に合わせるため、一般の豚骨を背脂を少なめにするか完全に抜いてしまう。なので、オレみたいなこってりずきな男くさい男にとっては若干薄すぎる。

まあ、とにかくこの店のこってりもWestwoodのみたいにうまい。本番的な九州ラーメンと並ぶほどうまい味。麺も細麺だし、豚骨もこってりでコクがある。唯一違うのはガーリックが載っていることかな。なんかあまり日本でガーリックスライスが麺に載ってるのを観た気がしないから、斬新だね。しかも、ガーリック好きなオレにはちょうどいい。ほかのトッピングや豚骨スープとの相性もすっごく抜群で、ガーリックマシマシくらいにしたかったw。

親父みたいな細め好き、又はオレみたいにこってり系やガーリックが好きな方であれば、是非訪ねてみてください。山田屋はサンフランからサンディエゴまで展開してるから、便利に食べられて味の保証もできると思う。

Yamadaya Kotteri $13

1728 Buchanan Street, San Francisco, CA, USA 94115

http://ramen-yamadaya.com/

 

Leave a Reply

